Which of the following do you think is the best way for a student to make new friends?

- joining a sports team

- participating in community activities

- traveling

Undoubtedly, having an excellent friendship has a wide range of implications since students always spend a great deal of time with their friends. Some people believe that the best way for students to make friends is either joining sports teams or doing some social activities. However, others do not subscribe to these views, and they believe that kids or youth can befriend others readily in other ways. In my opinion, journeys are a brilliant idea to make new friends. I have two main reasons, which are explained as follows.

First and foremost, travel is replete with ups and downs, so students can know more about each other in different conditions. In fact, when students go on trips, they may encounter some obstacles which they can not solve by themselves such as losing their money, suffering severe wounds in the wake of a fall, to name but two, so it is necessary for other members to help those students. Nevertheless, the majority of students may not want to help those students in order to cope with their issues to their rescue. As a result, students can find their new friends who want to help them in those problematic situations because they would come to know who cares more about their issues more than others do. In addition, students may find some friends with whom they can have a cheerful time. Indeed, they may have more fun and create a wonderful journey with each other, so they can form a great relationship based on trust and compassion. On the other hand, when students attend social activities or join sports teams, they face issues less than going on trips which do not compare to the unpleasant experiences they may undergo while journeying, so they can not find intimate friends who may help them in some difficulties. As a consequence, students can find their desired friends when they help them feel better both in difficulties and happiness.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that travel provides conditions in which students should spend lots of time with each other. The cognition of peers is so difficult that choosing them as a friend in the shortest amount of time is not feasible, so students should spend a good deal of time with each other in order to know more about their feelings, lives, interests, to name but a few. Knowing more about people’s attributes needs spending much time since people do not show their inherent traits in the least amount of time.

Moreover, when students can talk face-to-face with each other for a long time, they can talk about their desires, behaviors, and the like, so students can find their friends whose behaviors and desires adopt theirs. For example, when I traveled with my classmates for one week, which is adequate time for me to know more about others, I could make some intimate friends on a trip as I gained some relative cognitions about their personalities and characters. Consequently, we decided that we could be friends because we had the same interests and thinking and outlook on some social, economic, political activities, so our attitudes towards some issues and desires brought about our relationship.

In summary, I do believe that travel is a bright idea to make an excellent friendship. As a matter of fact, trips not only provide some conditions in which students find their friends who have the same desires but also cause students to find their friends who care about them in stressful situations.