Which of the following three ways do you think would be most effective in protecting

46 | P

the natural environment and why?

 Walking or cycling instead of using cars

 Recycling and reusing objects instead of throwing them in the trash

 Buying organic and chemical-free foods

That deleterious human activity put enormous pressure on mother earth in the past few decades is an axiom. In this regard, some people believe that altering eating habits or recycling can be the answer to this complication, while others stand on the other side of the continuum, believing that cutting back the use of automobiles and by substituting walking or using bicycles is a more beneficial option. Personally, I embrace the view of the latter for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, by regulating the transportation rules, the number of fossil fuels that have to be burned in order to keep up with the demands will be reduced to a great extent. To be more specific, even though we live in the area of promoting green energies, the use of fossil fuels like gas, oil, and gasoline is the primary source of energy even for trivial, everyday tasks. Therefore, promoting alternatives for cars seems promising, which has been a definite routine for many countries. For example, the study at the University of Teheran has shown that Netherland is one of the pioneers in this field that could establish a habit among their citizens to use bicycles instead of cars. It has yielded to be one of the clean cities in the world. Moreover, besides its many merits to the environment, taking a few steps more daily or going to work or campus by cycling can result in a healthier body and mind.

Secondly, one of the other advantages of turning to green transportation methods might be to decrease the need to construct new infrastructures. It is evident that as the number of cars increase, it gives rise to building more bridges and roads to support the extent of them to avoid traffic jams. The more cars produced, the more trees have to be cut to expand roads and streets. For instance, according to the report of the famous climate change organization in Belgium, in every minute, one meter is adding to the existing roads on the planet. This data clearly shows that if the authorities do not take action against this phenomenon, we will face a more significant future setback. The time is limited when it comes to shielding mother earth against our actions.

To conclude, not only will biking and walking constrain the excessive emitting of greenhouse gases into the air but also it will omit the labor of constructions to handle the insatiable growing number of cars worldwide.