Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That people of all ages need to take a break once in a while is an axiom. In this regard, many people think that a period of relaxation is required for students after graduation, while others stand on the other side of the continuum, believing that a break can be detrimental in lots of ways. I am of the opinion with the latter group for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, this time-off can distract students from their work-related goals. Needless to say, modern education is aimed at fostering students for jobs which they can excel at; therefore, to distance even for a short period of time can reduce their chance of finding their dream job. Students are more encouraged right after they finish the hard times of studying rather than a year later when they have experienced life without the stresses of passing their mid-terms or obtaining high marks on their tests. For example, I can recall that when my graduation finalized, I took my time and travel around the world to celebrate my achievement. Thus, I was less eager to pursue my dreams since I spent so much time having fun, and It was difficult to go through the hardships of seeking a job that seemed highly demanding, either intellectually or physically.

Secondly, long holidays might mentally make students change their minds about their interests. To be more specific, each time each individual pauses the routine of their work or studying, there is a good chance of losing track of their passion and decide to change the path they are in it. Thus, it is highly recommended that to avoid altering the course of our ambitions and seeking them continuously without any interruptions in the way. For instance, one of my best friends, whose parents were divorced when we met, decided to have a break after our bachelor's to live with his father for a while in another city. She enjoyed her time with his father so much that she totally left her work decisions behind thereby, she later confessed to me that this time-off made her a different person who was not passionate about her previous goals anymore, which was a shame due to the fact that she was talented in her field.

To conclude, not only might relaxing after the graduation distance from our work-wise goals; therefore, leading to an unsuccessful job, but it might also affect mentally on what we desire the most in terms of studying or working.