Wild tuna, a species of large ocean fish, have decreased in number because of overfishing Recently, attempts have been made to farm tuna by feeding the fish in ocean cages until they become large enough for sale. However, tuna farming has faced several problems and criticisms.

First, female tuna do not lay eggs in captivity, so tuna farmers must capture large quantities of young wild tuna to stock their farms, further reducing wild tuna populations. These young tuna are caged and fed until they are large enough to be sold. Since the captured females in tuna farms cannot lay eggs to replace the tuna that are sold, tuna farmers continue to catch young wild tuna to keep their farms going and so worsen the decline in wild tuna populations.

Second, tuna raised on farms are very expensive because they depend on a costly, high-protein food derived from other fish. Tuna feed almost exclusively on small fish, which supply them with the proteins and nutrients they require. A single tuna can grow more than four meters long, weigh close to 700 kilograms, and eat 70 kilograms of food a day! It is unlikely that tuna farms can remain profitable while supplying so much expensive food for the tuna.

Third tuna confined to ocean cages are likely to become infested with parasites, organisms that feed on and weaken the animal they attach to. Tuna farmers off the coast of southern Australia have had problems with infestations of blood flukes, a type of parasite that lives within the blood vessels and heart of infected fish. Parasite infestations weaken tuna, slow their growth, and can even cause death, usually by making them susceptible to other diseases. Tuna farms in southern Australia have had 10 percent of their tuna die before they could be sold.

In this set of materials, the reading and writing both discuss the wild tuna. The writer strongly postulates that certain concerns are raised because of tune farming which was initiated to recify the overfishing problem and, provide three major concerns to endorse its idea. However the lecturer mentions that there is promising solution for each of the problems mentioned in the reading and, gainsays each of them.

First and foremost, the writer begins by asserting that young tuna fishes are transported to the cages of tuna as tune fishes cannot lay eggs in captivity, soi enorous number of tuna are delivered one oafet other that is adversely affecting tune's population. On the other hand, the lecturer dismisses this point by insisting that that this solution is overcome by injecting specific harmones. To be more specific, the hormone enables the tuna fishes to lay eggs even in captivity. therefore, the risk to the tuna population will be diminished.

Furthermore, the lecture posits that though tuna need high protein diet but only fishes are not source of their nutritional diet. He goes on to say that there are certain plants whoi can be processed to provide diet for tuna fishes.because of its lower price this solution will be economical. These points clearly refute the writer implication that tuna only feed on protein diet which can be only acquired from other small fishes.

Ultimately, the writer wraps up its arguments by declaring that captivity could cause prasitic infestation among tuna and exemplifies that with blood fluke in Southern Austarlia. Not surprisingly, the lecturer takes an issue with that by contending adequate steps could be taken to prevent infestation.for sake of illustration, when tuna were transported to the deep water height, the blood fluke could not grow.Due to the reason that blood fluke only brow in off shore or shallow water. Consequently, if tuna are moved to deep water location parasitic infestation could be limitized.