Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Without a doubt, professors have a significant impact on how students learn. Therefore, it is crucial for students to enroll in courses with outstanding teachers. Although some may prefer to have the same teachers for their classes, I personally believe that it would be advantageous for students to be taught by different professors. I feel this way for a couple of main reasons that I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, by having different teachers, students can experience several teaching methods that benefit them. In fact, different professors exhibit various behaviors and attitudes, as all people do. To be more specific, some teachers are bad-tempered and do not interact well with their students in the class, while others have a good sense of humor and make close relationships with the students. Thus, it is necessary for pupils to experience both types of behavior to learn how to communicate with others. This is an asset for them because some students tend to be a teacher in the future. So, when they have seen different teachers with various strategies of teaching as well as behaving in the class, they may choose the best of them in the future to be more successful in their occupation.

Furthermore, having the same teachers may cause students to get unreal scores during their studies. Indeed, when a teacher has the same students every semester, they may grade the students based on the background that they have about them, not according to their current performance. To be more specific, imagine a situation in which a student performs excellently in the first semester of taking a course with a professor. But then, he does not study well in the next class due to some problems and still gets good scores. Therefore, the student may stop studying in the following semesters if he realizes he is receiving good results without exerting any effort because he is sure he has a guaranteed score. On the other hand, assume that there is a student who has difficulty studying for the first time which he has taken a course with a professor but tries to compensate in the upcoming years. In this situation, the professor may still think he is that weak student who did not study well for the first semester.

To sum up, taking the aforementioned reasons into account, I am totally convinced that pupils have to take courses with different professors during their studies. This is not only because they may gain experience by learning about other study methods and behaviors but also because they may get scores based on their current performance rather than because of their first semester grades.