You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

The life at university is considered to be an essential period among most students. While some students prefer to have roommate that they have been assigned by the university, I hold the opposite view. I believe that it is better for students to choose their roommate by their own.

To begin with, when students choose their roommate on their own, they would feel comfortable to get along with the roommate. It does not take long time between the two students to accustom to each other because they already know each other well. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my first year at Kally University, I did not choose my roommate in the dormitory because the policy for the university at that time did not allow freshman students to choose their roommate. Therefore, I struggled with my assigned roommate because he had very strange personality; he mainly talked about soccer players. Everyday he used to watch soccer and sometimes he goes to the stadium and watch live game there. For me honestly, I did not like soccer at all, so I did not hang out with my roommate and I did not like his speech about soccer too. Obviously, I did not get along with my roommate at all, so I was sleeping at that time at my friend Ahmed home.

Adding to the previous point, when students do not choose their roommate by their own, they can have irresponsible roommate that can destroy their academic life. For instance, imagine a roommate who is not quite, and he/ she use to play loud music in the room. Thus, the other roommate would struggle with his/her study or even with his/her sleep. So, this will have negative effect on his/her performance at university. She/ he will not sleep well at night, so she/he might miss classes or even not study hard.

In conclusion, I encourage students to decided who is going to share the room with them at the dormitory. This is because it allows them to get together easily, and it enable them to avoid having irresponsible students with them in the room.