It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on the way that people should gain their knowledge. While some people think that getting knowledge from books is more beneficial for most people, I hold the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, I think that the most important source of information is the real experiences.

To begin with, most books have a biased point of view for the writer. The writer’s opinion influences all the information in that book. For example, I remember one time when I read a book about the shape of the earth. It said in that book that the earth is in a circle shape. However, when I read another book about the shape of the earth, it said that no one can know the exact shape of the earth. Therefore, every writer in most books tends to represent the idea that he/she believes. On the other hand, when people experience real events, they can get the truth and the right information. For instance, when I worked in the hospital, I did not know about the procedure for administrating chemotherapy because it was not explained clearly in the book. However, when I saw the procedure in front of me, I knew the exact chemotherapy process without any doubt of having a biased view like in some books.

Adding to the previous point, most books do not have updated information as most of their knowledge is obsolete. Therefore, people can gain some old knowledge that is not applicable in our daily life. In contrast, when people try to experience a situation, they can get the newest version of the event. For example, in my hometown, Saudi Arabia, many books that are in schools have very outdated knowledge. Thus, when students get graduated and start working in the field, they notice that the work environment is totally different from what they have studied in books. Indeed, most Saudi’s students find out that the experience is the modern source of information not books.

In conclusion, I urge people to get most of their knowledge by experiences. They should not rely on books as a truthful source of information.