you have long been friends with someone, if they do something that you don't like, should you still be friend with him or her? (after edit)

People in their life have different possessions but one of the precious assets that they have is their friend. We make a lot of mistakes in the life and some of them affect other people. Some people believe that a friend should be vigilant all the time to do always for their friend's favor and if he did something you do not like you should unravel your friendship tie. I disagree with the idea and I believe we cannot cut friendship in any small challenge. I feel this way because of two main reasons that I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, we cannot ruin our history with someone because of a mistake. As a matter of fact, friendship is built over a long period of time and diminishing your bond with a like-minded friend means that you do not have characteristics of generosity. If you consider him as a friend and forgive him, it would consolidate your friendship tie. As a personal example, one of my best friends named Ahmed who I have known him since I was ten years old divulged my secret to my girlfriend. I felt embarrassed and angry at the same time. However, after talking with him and understanding that he felt guilty, I forgave him. We are closer to each other now.

Secondly, it is hard to substitute a friend with a new person. Friends are people's social investment. Admittedly, a considerable amount of time was allocated to grasp whether someone is reliable or not. Removing an individual from our life means that we should make a new investment to find a new reliable person with the same interest. Without any doubt, it is waste of our resources since we can turn a blind eye to his mistake and give him another chance. Suppose that you are a manager of a football team and during a game, one of your favorite players made a mistake and took a red card from the referee. As a manager, you are in dilemma. Whether you should fire him to find a new player in his position or not. It should be stressed that buying a new player means allocating club's budget for finding a replacement. I think the player deserves another chance not only because it is her first time, but also because he showed her dedication to us before. The player and the friend that makes a mistake are the same. We can give a new chance to him

In a nutshell, I adamantly believe that people should not cut their friendship with merely one mistake.