Young people should try different jobs before they decide which job or career they will choose in the long term.

Previous job has a substantial effect on the next job of an individual. This is because it provides with all the prerequisite for the next one. Different people held conflicting claims on whether or not one should try out various works before deciding on a specific one. In my own opinion it may not be a wise choice to try out different jobs before deciding on a long term career. I will be developing my reasoning in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the job requirement of today does not allow us the luxury of experiencing a wide variety of jobs. This is because, nowadays companies do not hire anybody out of the blue; they need a certain period of work experience from every candidate. Under this circumstances, if we want to secure a stable job then we need to stay in a job long enough in order to have some references. For instance, a while back my friend asked me to recommend him in a job opening on my company. However, he had no credible references because he used to wander between various jobs and no owner took him seriously. As a result, he didn’t get the job. This personal experience shows that wandering in between jobs is not a wise choice.

Secondly, a person trying out different jobs will not gain enough experience to be better at a single one. As evident from the famous adage, Jack of all but ace of none, maundering different work place will develop sufficient skills to master one. In addition, jobs of today demand sufficient technical expertise, to develop which a person has to stay in a single workplace for at least a year. Let us take an example of an automated car manufacturing company. An employee working here needs to dedicate at least a year so that he can learn the technical skills of handling the machines. From this example, we can see the disadvantage of strolling between various jobs.

Finally, many of us cannot afford working at various places, just for having a better choice of career. This is because as soon as we graduate we come up with the responsibility of looking after our family. My own personal experience profoundly explains this claim. Two years ago, I graduated from my college and instantly I got a job offering in a local software company. Now at that time, I did not have the choice of abandoning that job and starting to search for a better career. This was because being a single son, I had the responsibility of supporting my family. So, it will not be an exaggeration to say that family responsibility will be a hurdle in experiencing different jobs.

To sum up, I do not agree with the idea of experiencing different jobs until we find our choice mainly for the above mentioned reasons of less experience, job insecurity and family responsibility.