Your city has decided to build a statue or monument to honour a famous person in your country. Whom would you choose? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Nowadays there are lots of statues and monuments to honour people in cities which can remind us to feel grateful for what they may have done to our country and society. In France many personalities come to my mind, such as Charles de Gaulle, Victor Hugo, Molière or Simone Veil. If I had to decide whom would my city build, I would choose Simone Weil. This essay will further discuss reasons to support my choice.

Firstly, her life needs to be known to understand why she is the perfect famous people for our statue or monument. She was a young Jewish girl during WWII and she survived the Shoah and the death camps, which yet shows how strong she was even during her teenage years. WWI and WWII have affected every French, in this respect, a survivor from this period is always a good choice of statue.

However, surviving the holocaust is not even close to her only action! She was a huge help to the independence of women in France and thanks to her, women get the chance to abort legally. From a feminism point of view, this makes Simone Veil the perfect figure of the political French scene.

On top of that, she was elected as the first woman president of the European Parliament. She was the one who prepared Europe for the entry of ex-communism countries and who helped Europe to be known by more people.

To conclude, I strongly believe that Simone Veil is the perfect person who can be chosen to get a statue or a monument erected. In addition to her contribution to improve women conditions, she was a huge actor in the European development. As she died 1 year and a half ago, this would be a great reminder for all what she did for France.