your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors(fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is better choice, and why?

1. A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner(so that he would began to work full-time quickly) or

2. A major that requires many years of study that provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the industrial revolution in Europe, the role of education has been highlighted for getting a job. Jobs are more complicated nowadays and getting a high level job, requires a great amount of knowledge and education, usually a university degree. On the other hand studying for a higher degree can be costly and time-taking. While, there are some people who are willing to start a job or career as soon as possible, I personally contend that getting a higher education level is a better choice for a prosperous future. I will vindicate my standpoint in the following article.

First, with a higher level of education, getting an appealing job will be accessible. Obviously, longer years of study mean more knowledge. There are a little, who has this amount of knowledge and expertise. Consequently, companies will pay more to someone to fill a position that requires that knowledge. In other words if you know more, you will get paid more. As an example I can mention a company that I used to work in. When I enter that company my salary was higher than the employees with a longer work experience but with less educational background.

Second, university students usually involve in part-time jobs. The payment for these jobs is enough for a person to manage his life and costs and expenses. I mean there is no necessity for starting a full time work sooner. During these part-time jobs one can experience a lot of different situations and even can analyze different types of work. So after his graduation, he knows what he wants to do and what type of job is suitable for him. For example I have a cousin who is CTO of an IT company in Iran. Some years ago she started her masters just a while after finishing her undergraduate studies in software engineering, during her master’s period she worked as a part-time employee in one of the major companies in Tehran, She gained a lot of experiences during that time, but she also realized that she didn’t like the job. So after graduation of master’s degree, not only she had work experience but she could manage her life and was ready for a upper level positions.

To summarize, having a longer period of study will be beneficial. Cause with a higher level education getting better jobs with more payment will be easier. On the other hand there is no rush to start a full time job. I believe this is a kind of investment. If you invest for longer terms, the profit will be more.