Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

– A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly). Or

– A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Be sure to use your own words. Do not memorize some certain examples.

In my opinion a major that requires many years of study would be a better choice because you have a better chance to become successful if you have more employment opportunities; besides, the degree isn’t the only issue that matters in education. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, choosing a major that leads you to more job opportunities would be less risky. Indeed, when you are going to choose a job, if numerous job opportunities are available you can evaluate them and choose the one that you like more than others. Conversely, if you have a few options, you have to choose one of them even if you don’t like them as much as you expected. For example, when my brother was going to choose a major, he decided to choose one that allows him to finish his studies sooner because he wanted to find a full-time job and marry as soon as possible. Although he finished his study very soon and found a full-time job after that, he has always complained about his job because it isn’t his favorite job. Indeed, he had just one job opportunity after graduation and he had to peak it. Maybe, if he chose another major that required long years of study he could choose a better job among the available opportunities.

Second, although getting a degree is very important, there are other issues that are important as much as getting the degree; thus, finishing study sooner doesn’t help you to fulfill them. Undoubtedly, the university is a place that you can learn new things in a fun atmosphere without any concern about the costs. As a result, if you finish your studies soon, you may lose your chance to learn more things by using the facilities of the university. For instance, when I was a student at university, although I could finish my studies sooner, I decided to pace down and stay more in university because I was invited to work on an experimental project in which the costs were borne by the university. Thus, it was a great chance to learn a lot of new things without any cost. Consequently, at the end of the project, I succeeded to submit two scientific papers for a well-known journal. Furthermore, these papers and the experience of working in such a project, help me to get an admission for a Ph.D. position in one of the top universities of Canada.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that choosing a major that last longer to finish, would be a better idea.