Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

– A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly). Or

– A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Be sure to use your own words. Do not memorize certain examples.

Career is very important in people's life. If they have a good profession, life would be much easier as they do not have to be dependent on others, therefore, these days everybody focuses on education to build up their career. There are many pros and cons of the options whether it’s about picking a major that would provide a degree sooner with a full-time job or taking a major which requires many years of study and offers a better work opportunity. I think I would prefer a major which can offer a better job despite the years it takes to complete the studies. I will explore my reasons in the following passages.

To begin with, opting for a course with great job can offer a secure life despite the years it takes to study. Time that people invest in their studies is never a waste since education can provide a stable and secure life which everybody wishes for. Choosing a major with a shorter duration if provide a job with a lesser job opportunity then it would create a problem in the future. Take my friend, for instance, she completed her major of seven years long and as soon as she finished, she got a lot of job opportunity and now she’s doing a great in her life. She is a well-settled woman and thus operates of her own company. This example illustrates the secure and stable life after completing the major with a better job opportunity. A survey by the researchers have revealed that sixty percent of students with five or six years of major have better lifestyles as compare to those who have done a shorter course like one or two years of programs.

In addition, in university, as students spent more time, they not just get exposure and knowledge but also get to interact better with their faculties and professors as compared to the students taking shorter courses. It can be very helpful in the future in the terms of networking and also for career options. My own experience as a student demonstrates a compelling example of this. I have done a major in dental studies, it took me five years to complete my education. During these years, I have not just learned many things but also made a lot of good friends even have good contact with my professors. Hence, this example demonstrates the more years scholars spent in their universities, not just in their knowledge but also offers to meet and mingle with their professors.

Having manifested the aforementioned points and example, I can sum up that major with longer duration have not just an advantage of better job offers but also a secure life as wells as more interactions with colleagues and professors.