Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is not uncommon to find people get confuse between the facts and concepts. These two words have totally a different meanings. I strongly agree with the statement that for the students, learning ideas or concepts are more important than simply learning the facts. Thats is because concept is the root of the knowledge, it helps students to understand the topic better and also because it helps to retain the basic knowledge.

To begin with, concept or idea is the root of any knowledge. Knowing the concept, student can easily understand the depth of any topic. As for fact, it is something which has to be mugged up and its a memorable. Students can easily forget the topic just by learning the facts, but by learning the concept or an idea can make student retain the topic. For example, learning the facts is like at what date did Vascoda Gamma discovered the India, so we have to learn the date by heart and there are chances that we can easily forget it. But by learning the concept for instance, why and how did Vascoda Gamma discovered India, this can make students learning more interesting and they can grasp knowledge in much better ways. This example illustrates the importance of learning concepts over the facts.

Secondly, concepts can make students retain the knowledge better. As per with facts, it has to be mugged up, so chances are we can easily forget the whole thing. But with concept, students can figure out the answer just by revising their main ideas. Learning with a concept can retain for much longer time as compare to just learning the facts. For example, when we study math, we try to study the concept or methods rather than studying the facts. Hence, we could solve any question just with the help of the main idea. Concepts can be especially helpful during exam, when student tends to forget the facts due to nervousness.

In conclusion, i agree that it is much helpful to acquire the concept or basic idea of knowledge than just simply mugging up the facts beacause the concepts can make student understand better, and because it can be retained for longer duration.