Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Recently, the phenomenon of age discrimination and its corresponding impacts have sparked a significant debate. Some people believe that discrimination against older workers be made illegal and others maintain the opposite of this argument. Although contested by many that the matter of age discrimination is highly controversial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and consequently positive by a substantial number of individuals. This essay will discuss age discrimination and making decision based on the age is illegal.

From a general standpoint, in a work place, making decision based on a person's age provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that older workers' mental disorders as well as their financial downturn are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic survey which discovered older workers are more effective. Thus beneficial ramification of both experience and practical knowledge are apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of sociology, performing active participating in a work place by elderly workers might increase some consequences of less effectiveness. Moreover, elder worker can not perform well as do as youngers. As a tangible example, a scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university emphasized that the downside of the age discrimination is correlated negatively with mental disorders. Hence, it is correct to presume preconceived notion of this phenomenon.

This essay discussed the consequences of age discrimination with several compelling arguments. In my opinion, I profoundly believe that age discrimination is illegal and need to be addressed by the government.