Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, These are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Nowadays, in this competitive world, employment is bounded stringently with employer to achieve high ranking and huge bonus margins. Some people believe that promotion or dismissal should not be depend on age in the organization and other people argue that it should be depend on skills of individuals. I reckon the notion where people accept the skills of individual to play a profound role in success of both employer and employee. I will discuss both view and come to logical conclusion.

Firstly, There are numerous profound reasons which vouch the high rank in hierarchy of era of competition. People working with company from many years know the flow of works and responsibilities of others. For example, sales manager working long have better forecast and can judge easily of effected regions. The notion old is gold applies in same manner in organization. Old people are treasure for company to gain plan and strategy in form of huge margins of productivity.

Secondly, People who suggest dismissal or promotion is more depend on age due to physical or eye sight weakness and can decrease the productivity of company. To some extent, they are correct and signals the scenario where people are become lazy as their positions become stable due to age and no body would not dismiss. Age should not criteria of promotion or dismissal.

In recapitulate, people notions promotion or dismissal is more dependent on skills as compare to age. It should not be illegal for older aged employees. I would recommend, to monitor individual performance, policy and regulation must be in place.