Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal ?

People are sometimes discriminated in the workplace on the decisions of employment, promotions or dismissals on the basis of age. I firmly believe, that such discrimination is incorrect and should be made illegal.

Firstly, every citizen in a country has equal rights but these are not applicable in the workplace. The employees are not always validated on the basis of their performance and effectiveness but on their age. For example, employers dismiss individuals because of their age even when they are performing at their best. Moreover, companies do not take into account the years of hard work and devotion that the workers have given to the organization.

Secondly, companies promote individuals on the basis of their age and relations with the seniors. They completely ignore an employee's ability and skill. To illustrate, many organizations promote youngsters and want them to take the lead role leaving the older people behind. They do not understand that experience also plays an instrumental role in solving critical issues and taking the right decisions.

To recapitulate, an individual must be evaluated on the basis of performance and effectiveness rather than age. It is the responsibility of the government to make age-based discrimination illegal and empower the citizens to be able to fight for their rights in case such issues occur.