Most people in what are known as the developed nations have homes full of gadgets and labor-saving devices, from vacuum cleaners and dishwashers to the latest in computer technology. Some people claim that despite all these labor-saving devices, we seem to have less free time.

In your opinion, has technology improved the quality of life or made it more complicated ? Support your arguments with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

Many people in developed nations have their homes filled with gadgets and work automating devices like vacuum cleaners, dishwashers and computers. Some people believe that this reduces the manual effort and contribute in saving time, while others argue that people do not have enough free time even after possessing these devices. I firmly believe that technology has improved the effectiveness of performing various day to day tasks and ultimately the quality of life.

Firstly, technological advancements have greatly improved human work efficiency. For example, devices like vacuum cleaner can clean the entire house in a fraction of minutes. Moreover, computers can perform various complicated operations with the speed of light and internet has made it possible to connect to any person around the world. In addition, with the help of mobile phones we can talk to anyone in a matter of seconds. Therefore, it is quite evident that technology has improved the living standards.

However, some people believe that despite these technological advancements we seem to have less free time. Although, this might be true to some extent, but it is quite critical to understand that people who do not get free time might not be managing their schedule in a better way. For instance, individuals keep wasting their free time on mobile phones doing nothing. Hence, it is of paramount importance to make the proper use of the tools available to us to get more free time .

To recapitulate, technology has played an instrumental role in changing the world for the better and has greatly improved the quality of life. People must make positive use of technology and manage their schedule effectively to get more free time.