The claim that animals have "rights" has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals ? Should zoos be banned ? Do you agree or disagree ?

There has been a lot of debate on whether animals have rights, the role of the zoos in the protection or exploitation of animals and if the zoos must be banned. Although zoos deprive animals of their freedom to some extent, they play a part in securing the life of the animals. Hence, I believe that zoos must not be banned but they must be kept in check all the time.

Firstly, the zoos play an instrumental role in helping the animals. For example, the zoos protect wide variety of endangered species of animals which would have otherwise become extinct. Moreover, as the animals are safe in the zoos as compared to the wild where they could be hunted, the population of such animals like Tigers have increased over the past few years. Thus, it is clear that the zoos help in protecting animals.

However, some people believe that the animals are not treated well in the zoos and are kept as prisoners. This could be true to some extent and can be avoided if some key steps are taken. To illustrate, the government must create stringent laws for animal welfare and keep a check on any kind of suspicious activities in the zoo. Furthermore, animal rights activists must also take measures to ensure that the safety and security of the animals in the zoos are given paramount importance and that the governing body in the zoos follow the government laws.

To recapitulate, animals along with human beings are a critical part of the ecosystem. Zoos play a significant role in protecting rare wildlife species and they must not be banned. Instead, the government must lay down stringent laws and ensure that they are followed in the zoos to keep the animals protected.