Team sports are generally promoted as a great way to keep fit and build character. However, sporting events such as soccer are often accompanied by violence between rival supporters and other forms of antisocial behavior. If sporting events can lead to antisocial behavior, can team sports be really good for us ?

Sports can be played as an individual or as a team event. Some people argue that team sports like soccer sometimes result in violence and other forms of antisocial behavior. Although, this might be true to some extent sports play a crucial role in building a person's physical fitness and character.

Firstly, sports are a great way to stay fit and relieve mental stress. Team sports like soccer and cricket require extreme fitness and are also monumental in shaping an individuals character. For example, cricket is referred to as Gentleman's game because it is played with true sportsman spirit. Moreover, team sports help individuals acquire the qualities of team work, professionalism, positive attitude and mutual respect.

Secondly, sporting events are great for a country's economy. To illustrate, events like the World Cup and the Olympics provide employment to thousands of citizens in the host nation. Furthermore, these sports are instrumental in inspiring the young population to choose sports as a professional career. This is beneficial for the health and economic welfare of a nation.

Although, it has been evidenced that due to the extreme passion and love for their country, sports supporters have sometimes resorted to violent means. These can be easily controlled by the enforcement of laws by the government.

To recapitulate, sports not only help in staying fit they also play a monumental role in building a person's character. Thus, more people should indulge in sporting activities and government must play its part in ensuring that sporting events are organized peacefully.