As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people would see it as a positive development ? What are the advantages of an ageing population for individuals and society ?Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Medical science has made enormous progress in the recent years due to which even the most dangerous and life threatening diseases are curable. This has resulted in increased life expectancy for both men and women. Although, many people would consider this as a positive development this can also have some negative consequences on the individuals as well as the society.

On the one hand, medical science has been able to find the cure to many life threatening diseases. For example, diseases like cancer, aids, blood pressure and heart issues were considered to be incurable. But with the advancements in medicine people can be treated and they can live longer. As a result, they can spend precious years of their lives with their near and dear one's.

On the other hand, as the people grow older so does their problems after the medical treatment. To illustrate, the treatment of rare diseases are costly and most of the times people end up spending all of their life's savings in the treatment and care. As a result, they are seen as a burden by their family. Moreover, the life that they have left is spent mostly bedridden or on medicines.

In contrast, people who remain healthy after the treatment keep working longer but their efficiencies go down. This results in reduced productivity and increased unemployment among younger population because of the fewer jobs available. Ultimately, the growth of the society comes to a standstill because of these issues.

To recapitulate, the advancements in medical care has been significant and had several benefits but it can sometimes cause harm to the individuals and society as well.