In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

Using more credit cards instead of cash in a cashless society has sparked a public controversy, which leads to a moot question “is cashless society beneficial or detrimental?”. While there are several drawbacks to the discussion, I believe that the benefits of cashless societies will continue to outweigh its downsides. This essay will further elaborate on positive and negative aspects of the topic and thus will reach a logical conclusion.

Many commentators are of the view that using credit cards has several disadvantages. From their point of view, international trades is strongly related to using cash, which means it would lead to both export and import of goods by paying the cost of the products. For example, a group of economic scientists, working at a highly prestigious university, conducted a qualitative study to understand the relationship between banknotes and plastic cards. Therefore, this evidence presented thus far support the contention that cross-border businesses are positively correlated with not only a primary currency but also digital banking.

However, I believe that encouraging people to use credit cards has several advantages. Firstly, the significant advantage is that domestic companies are undoubtedly attributable to national transactions, in that it would lead to wholesale trades. Secondly, a well-known example of such attributions is globalization which is cause for concern since it had been mistaken in using the cash for granted. Finally, debit cards and credit cards could play a vital role in the transaction, such as Master Cards, Visa Cards, and American Express.

To conclude, having a cashless community by using credit cards can be mutually beneficial under different circumstances. However, I believe that credit cards will prove to be not only crucial but also worthwhile to the society.