In education system, assessment through written formal examination is valid or not. OR Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

In this day and age, the issue of students’ assessment has sparked a heated debate. In this regards, a substantial number of people put this idea forward that pupils’ appraisal should be in a written format. Personally, I am inclined to highly believe that this method of evaluation is quite effective. This will be analyzed in this essay before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

For one, it is commonly accepted that written examinations impose less stress to students during the tests compared to other test methods such as oral exams. In this regard, according to an article published in the Journal of Modern Education, MIT researchers have revealed that students who underwent written examination are 20% less under stress and pressure imposed by the exam compared to those who took other test forms. Hence, beneficial ramifications of such evaluation can be seen.

In addition to this, from social equity perspective, being tested by written formats make contributions to provide equal assessment conditions for all applicants. Take Iranians’ university entrance exam for instance. In this form of performance appraisal, all candidates are asked not only the exact questions, but also in the same manner and situation. As a consequence, it is coherent that written examinations are recognized to be fair and precise. Thus, why this idea has garnered support can be seen with clarity.

In conclusion, after analyzing the issue of stress level as well as the issue of fair examination, it can be felt that this method of assessment is far more advantageous.