How do you think the crime would reduce – with harsher punishments or moral teachings? Discuss both the views and take a stand?

There is always a debate whether correct values or stick punishments, which is more appropriate to reduce crime rate and save the society. I believe that both are equally significant to alleviate crime and depend on several factors but moral values are vital to protect society and citizen. This essay will discuss both in detail and thus lead a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, undoubtedly, harsher punishment of any crime develops a fear of consequence in people and that fear stop them to commit crime. For example, the UAE has the stickiest punishments for all crimes and that’s why the UAE has the least crime rate in the world. These harsh punishments help government to protect society and nation from more criminals and innocent people also feel there. Therefore, harsher punishments and law aid to reduce crime by cultivating fear of consequences of the heinous crimes.

On the flip side, moral values play an enormous role to alleviate the crime, as people generally imitate and behave and act upon accordingly, what they have learned from their parents and society in their childhood. It’s parents and schools’ responsibility to teach a child moral values from a tender age. For instance, Japan has the second country which has the least crime rate because Japanese pay more attention to teach their children moral values. Thus, moral values not only help to reduce crimes, but also teach about humanity.

In conclusion, both harsher punishments and moral values are helpful to reduce crime in the world and depend on degree of crime as some crime must have strict punishments, where some crimes required to teach people moral values. In my opinion, moral values should be included as a part of the education system.