The Human may be able to live for 500 years or more. Would live for 500 years have positive or negative impacts on the world?

The twentieth century has brought it with many advances to the human life and with these advances, human life has changed dramatically. Now gerontologists are close to achieving the human lifespan expansion up to 500 years or more and the consequences of this have become a debatable topic. This essay will discuss why in spite of some benefits, there are several reasons it is inexpedient to expand the human life.

Longer lifespan will let grandparents spend a considerable amount of time with their grandchildren. Because of this, grandchildren are able to absorb invaluable life experience and lifestyle of people of bygone centuries. For instance, a person who lives longer life has generations of experience with him which can easily share and educate the young juveniles. Therefore, the greater lifespan accumulates a huge experience which is important for shaping up the future world.

Negative aspects of living for 500 years are far more apparent. The world has limited resources. If the birth rate continues with the same pace and the death rate drops drastically due to the huge expansion in lifespan, there will be much more pressure on the finite resources across the globe as well as it would lead up to a financial crisis. To sum up, increasing the human lifespan will aggravate the current global issues.

This essay discussed how the lifespan extending would help to build a better society and future but it can give birth to enormous new problems, which will eventually become a global crisis. In my opinion, the drawbacks of increasing the lifespan far outweigh the benefits, thus should not be encouraged.