Information revolution has changed the way of mass communications and had some negative and positive effects on individual lives as well as on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these days, there is no denying the reality that the advancement of information has altered the way of mass communications. While many people believe that the change brings about positive impacts to people’s life, other feels that the opposite is also correct. This essay offers some insights on both merits and demerits of the development.

Perhaps the greatest benefit people can enjoy from the information revolution is the easy access to a huge source of data and information. As the matter of fact, newspaper was the only source of mass communication in the older days. With the advent of the internet, TV and radio, people can get access to the information at their convenience by a few simple clicks. Another advantage is the communication capability, which enables people to keep in touch with their friends and stay connected with the world regardless of their physical distance. To give an illustration, online social networks such as Facebook and Yahoo have succeeded in connecting thousands of people around the globe.

Nonetheless, like two sides of the same coin, the information advancement also creates many problems. The most obvious negative impact is the confusion caused by misleading information. This is due to the fact that the information shared on the internet is not censored and validated. As a consequence, the general public is easy influenced and deceived by incorrect pieces of information, which results in aggressive behaviour.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that while information revolution allows people to enjoy great benefits, it also brings about many drawbacks to other’s lives and the society.