It is argued that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the second half of the last century, there has been a switch from the traditional manufacturing economy to a knowledge economy. Much of the world has placed a premium on the knowledge and skills one can obtain from higher education. Some academics suggest that university students should widen their study from a limited range of subject orientation to the high complexity of subjects. This proposed change merits serious consideration.

From a social aspect, current employers show a tendency to recruit youngsters who can do a various array of jobs within a single position rather than job specialists. A clerk working for a bank, for example, is required to possess a collection of skills, ranging from those learned in the field of finance, accounting, and economy to those in other relevant subjects, such as management, communication, and sociology. As the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, students who dabble in different specialized areas and have experience in the interdisciplinary study are expected to be in a preponderant position.

From the students' perspective, learning different subjects can be both personally fulfilling and skill- enhancing. Many students tend to perceive it as unwieldy when studying several subjects, they have no experience in. This challenge, if overcome, leaves individuals more room for skill enhancement. For example, extra learning requires students to take in essential information within a time frame. In coping with this task, students must develop outstanding time management skills and show expertise in juggling different jobs at a time. With know-how, they are more adjustable in this fast-changing social setting.

According to the above advantages, learning different subjects does good for university students. Not only does it make students time-conscious and versatile, but also helps students to match the needs of a fast-changing and competitive society.