It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Nowadays, a year off between finishing school and going to university is a concept, which is gaining popularity. While some people believe that a year off between finishing school and going to university is a good idea and others thinks that its waste of time. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before reaching to my point of opinion.

Having a year off is a great idea. During this time, students may explore the choices of the subjects they interested in before entering the university. This will get them a clear idea about their career choices. For instance, if a student is good in Geography and due to some reason if he opted for medicine in this case he may nor be able achieve his desired level of success as expected. Also, during this break time students can engage in extra- curriculum activities such as different kind of sports, arts and so on.

On the other hand, others thinks that its a waste of time. Few students might fail to use this time effectively. For example, instead of spending time on important things they may get involved in bad habits such a smoking. Thus, it will impact on them through entire life.

This essay discussed both points of view of having a year gap between school and university. However, in my opinion having a year gap could be beneficial in long term provided this time should be utilized in effective way.