It is important that maintain and protect the beautiful building in the past, even if it is expensive for owners to do so.” what do you think of this statement? Give reasons and examples on your own experience.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the number of people arguing that it is important to maintain and protect old buildings. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant on is that why old buildings should be preserved lies in the fact that these old structure can enlighten people on their cultural heritage and offer an insight into how people in earlier centuries used to live. Not only do these buildings serve a didactic purpose, but they can also draw tourists from all over the world, thus augmenting revenues for the government. Needless to say, all these merits stand old buildings in good stead, when it comes to acknowledging their importance on society.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that apart from historical and economical benefits as mentioned above, the preservation of these ancient buildings also have environmental benefits. For instant, instead of demolishing and building new structure, restoring the old one can helps reduce construction waste and saves energy. Hence, it is apparent that why many are in favour of protecting old building.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of ancient buildings are indeed too great to ignore