Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

The discussion on the advantages and disadvantages of large shopping malls that are replacing small shops which was always been debatable has now been more controversial and both sides have its own logical arguments. I believe that large shopping malls have more benefits than drawbacks which have been elaborated in this essay through a pragmatic approach.

On the one hand, critics may point out that the temptation to browse the shopping malls will lure customers to buy the unnecessary things. For example, according to the University of Sydney, a recent survey on different households revealed that the spending on unnecessary things constitutes to 20% of the total expenditure.

On the other hand, in spite of these arguments, shopping malls are the great place for shopping where different kinds of shops like groceries, clothing store, entertainment and food courts are available under one roof. Firstly, according to the Times Magazine, June 2013 edition, shopping in a shopping mall has saved 33% of the total time which can be spent in other important works. Secondly, shopping malls have also been a kind of place for meetings.

Lastly, in my opinion, the Government of Dubai is proactively edifying the program and awareness camps to highlight the pros and cons of the large shopping malls in different countries.

To conclude, even though there are few disadvantages of large shopping malls, it has benefited a large number of people in different ways.