Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?

Nowadays, whether mass media can be considered beneficial for the human being or not has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public. Although contested by many that media is advantageous in many aspects, a substantial number of individuals point out its negative consequences. I am inclined to believe that mass media can have both positive and negative effects on our lives due to educational and psychological reasons, respectively.

First and foremost, it has been argued that Internet and other social networking websites are great means to keep people informed of the latest news and current affairs around the globe. Media can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that weather forecasting and increasing people knowledge and awareness are inextricably bound up. For example, a well-known American socialist once said, " educational programs broadcast on TV and other means of communications can undoubtedly foster intellectual skills of target audiences", which had a significant impact on my belief. Hence, the beneficial ramifications of boosting cognitive skills as well as the educational development of people apparently can be seen.

However, another factor that should be considered is the psychological reason, which in other words, despite the prominent role of media in making our communication more comfortable, people are experiencing more loneliness compared to the past. This is by diminishing our social interaction, especially face-to0face communications, that has led to virtual relationships.For instance, some research conducted in Melbourne University has asserted that people can be misled and misinformed by media, which can make them frustrated and isolated in the society. Thus, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of decreasing socialising actions.

To recapitulate, while there are compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the merits of mass media far outweigh its drawbacks due to educational reasons. To address the media's consequences, the government should make a concerted effort and find solutions.