Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have time for their personal life. Discuss

In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see people indulging in spending increasing number of hours at work, be it an affluent or impoverished nation. While some people believe that overtime at work can impact their personal life negatively, others think that spending extra time at work is more beneficial. In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. The following essay would further elaborate its both sides in detail with reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why working more than 8 to 9 hours can have adverse on personal life, but the most conspicuous one is that overtime at work can not only contribute to stress but also lead to numerous other disadvantages in various fields. For example, according to a recent survey undertaken by a group of experts at Columbia University has asserted that not only can one benefit more when it comes to being effective by maintaining work-life balance, but they can enhance the productivity and quality of their lives, with much ease, efficacy, and convenience. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead, as far as augmenting their chances of prosperity and excellence is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect of spending only required number of time at work and not indulging in overtime is that it is only likely to help one thrive and excel in varied areas. Besides, only when one follows such a system, can they broaden their horizons, thus learning such essential attributes as responsibility, dedication, and perseverance. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favor of balancing personal and professional hours.

To recapitulate, one can conclude that the effects of the work-life balance are indeed too high.