Poverty is a major issue worldwide. Many charities exist to help collect monetary donations. Who should decide what donations are spent on? The people in need or the charitable organisations? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Poverty has long been a global issue and today cash donations are collected by various charities and distributed to those in need. Some people believe that it’s charitable organisations should decide where to spend it. While others argue that it’s the needy people who should decide that where it’s required the most as they are part of that situation. I am inclined to believe that people who are in need can find of the areas where that money is required most and can make the best out of it. This essay will discuss why people who are in need should decide where to spent it rather than charitable organizations.

To commence with, people who are working with charitable organizations often come from the other countries and they may be not aware of the local context, subtlety of the particular regions in which they are temporarily placed. For instance, people do not know the conditions people live in Africa and what are their prime requirements and unable take decision. Therefore, due to lack of knowledge and understanding of background charitable people can’t take the best decision.

On the flip side, people who are living in that situation can make wise decision to use that collected donations because they know about local surrounding and understand the realities. For instance, people from poor village know very well that they need to have better infrastructure, primary education and skill the local people. So, the people who are themselves living in poverty can utilise the donation amount in the best way possible and can rise above poverty.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that it should be the poor people themselves who take control on their future by controlling the way in which donations are uses.