Problems and benefits for high school students study plays and works of theatres written centuries ago. Discuss and use your own experience.

Recently, the phenomenon of studying arts, plays and theatres has sparked a heated debate. Many people believe that it is beneficial for the society and students to understand the older generation and civilization, whereas a substantial number of individuals regard it as wastage of time and resources. This essay will analyse and highlight the problems and advantages of studying literature.

From a social standpoint, studying art, plays and theatre genre enrich pupils about the past adventures and makes them aware of the traditions, customs, rituals, and lifestyle of the people of bygone centuries. Not only it preserves the culture and history, but also advocate the human development throughout the centuries. For example, while studying plays in the college, I learnt about many famous poets and playwright such as Shakespeare. Hence, it is safe to say that the benefits of studying plays and working in theatre are substantial for the modern society and developments of students.

Within the realm of society, opponents think studying plays and theatre is a sheer wastage of time and money. Furthermore, students get engaged in the imaginative world and might not get suitable employment after the graduation, thus losing productive years of student life, which further can create issues in student’s life and with the family members. For instance, many students did not get employment after majoring in fine-arts and studying plays in the university.

To sum up, as per statements aforementioned, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, but I believe that majoring in arts subjects have a significant contribution to the society. Substantial advantages stated above can also outweigh the disadvantages.