Schools should prepare students for university, rather than for work. How far do you agree with this statement ? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Schools are considered to be the building blocks of a child's future. There is a general thinking, that schools must prepare students for higher education in university rather than for work. But, I feel that they must impart in students the qualities to survive and do well in all the spheres.

Firstly, schools must provide students with good academic education so that they can have strong fundamental concepts. For example, students require to clear competitive exams for getting admission into universities. Children can can only clear these exams with flying colours if their understanding of various subjects are strong. Furthermore, higher education is critical for students in getting better jobs and help build their future. Hence, it is of paramount importance that schools help students prepare for universities and higher education.

However, some students might want to work right after their school education in order to support their family or because of their interests. Thus, schools must also impart in children, the practical knowledge required for professional environment. To illustrate, schools must organize practical labs, conduct seminars and other competitions to help students understand the demands of practical work. Moreover, they must make students aware about various employment opportunities available after school. As a result, students would be able to focus more effectively on the areas of their interests and choose a right career path.

To recapitulate, schools are the foundation of a child's future and hence they must be able to inculcate in them academic knowledge, moral values and practical understanding required for future. This will help students in university as well as employment right after school.