Should the authorities from big cities around the world discourage citizens from using private cars and rather encourage them to use other means of transport such as bicycles, skates, the subway, etc.?

Transportation is the necessity of modern day life. People use cars, motorcycles and other vehicles to fulfill their daily transport needs. These days, whether to use private cars or not, is being question of debate. In this essay, I will provide my point of view by analyzing both sides of the arguments.

Pollution caused by a numerous number of cars is becoming the major reason for global warming. The discharge of various harmful gases; such as carbon dioxide, from an increasing number of cars is polluting our environment badly. For instance, a study done by the University of Texas showed that the ozone layer is being damaged continuously due to the release of such harmful gases by increased road traffic. Therefore, making a trend of using other means of transport could be beneficial to save a natural healthy environment.

On the other hand, people having their personal cars find an ease to move anywhere when needed. Private cars are being used for transportation as it is the easiest possible way. For example, according to a survey done in the early 20th century in the USA revealed that more than 70% of people secure their time by traveling in their own vehicles. Hence, having one's own car available at home can provide an effective way to save time in today's busy and hectic life.

In a nutshell, the essay discussed possible positive aspects of using personal vehicles as well as its deleterious effect on our society. Meanwhile, the benefits of using other means of transport are also being discussed.