Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the number of people arguing that government construct more roads to facilitate more vehicle . As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that public transport is the only way to reduce traffic on the roads. Not only can improved public transport network reduce traffic jams in the peak hours, but it can also decrease the environmental degradation caused by the increased number of cars. Needless to say, all these merits will stand government in good stead, when it comes to dealing with environment concerns.

Another pivotal aspect of this trend is that, thanks to public transport, it will be more affordable for such people with low income as students and elderly people. Besides, private car user also motivated to use public bus in order to save cost of petrol and car maintenance. Hence, it is apparent that why many are in favour of improving public transport rather than constructing roads.

In view of the arguments one can conclude that the benefits of public transport are indeed to great to ignore.