Some people believe laws change human behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

These days there is a heated debate among people about the importance of law. There are a great number of individuals who interpret the impacts of imposing law as thoroughly constructive, while others hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that law safeguards the public from crimes and also forms our behavior in a positive way.

There is no skepticism surrounding the fact that not only law provides punishment for those who do not follow the established rules of conduct, but also it protects citizens. To be more precise, the fear of being penalized would compel people to constantly remind themselves about the harmful consequences of breaking the law. Hence, they will become more responsible and accountable for their actions. For instance, the law of defamation is highly regarded as a fundamental protection of reputation for individuals and organizations.

Moreover, it is claimed that law could constructively shape our perception and specialize the characteristics in people. Therefore, legislation might stimulate individuals to acquire positive outcome in their social and personal life, so that it makes the society a safer place to live in. To be more specific, a survey conducted in Yale University in 2015 has found that higher tax on alcoholic beverages has consequently led to a significant decrease in consumption of these beverages. As a result, scientific research supports the hypothesis that imposing law is beneficial.

In a nutshell, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that law maintains peace and discipline in the country. I strongly believe that passing law is advantageous for every society. It is recommended that government takes the cognizance of these facts and introduce laws in order to protect safety and welfare of citizens.