Some people think that it is better for children to learn a foreign language at primary school. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The phenomenon of learning a new language in an early stage of school and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. While contested by many that the ability to communicate by other nation’s people is highly rewarding and it could be started from primary school, such issue is regarded thoroughly constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I profoundly inclined to believe that it could be beneficial as an optional item in the children’s curriculum. This essay will examine both sides by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, from the educational standpoint, learning a new language is assumed as an advantage for children by scientists. Firstly, it could broaden their outlook on life by becoming familiar with other nation’s culture. Secondly, it could bring the society with some noticeable plus consequences while it will prepare young learners with a wide variety of useful knowledge. According to a survey conducted by the United Nation, children with the ability of speak in the second language, beside mother tongue, has more brain activities than their monolingual counterparts.

On the other hand, opponents argued that forcing young children to learn the foreign language may be a negative in some parts. They use a valid logic to support that it could lead to distraction from their fundamental courses such as mathematics and physics. Not to mention that it might be the reason of psychological pressure for some pupils. For instance, a scientific research conducted by Tehran University in 2015 has revealed that the ability to speak has slow growth in bilingual students.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that although acquiring the capability of speak in another language may have some demerits, its beneficial impacts on youngsters in the forthcoming life far outweigh the disadvantages.