Some universities deduct students’ work if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

There are certain tasks students are expected to complete while studying at a university. One of them is the assignments but some teachers deduct marks if the assignments are submitted late. This essay will discuss how this practice is useless for the development of the students.

To begin with, the fear deduction of marks might force the students to copy the assignment in order to submit on time without understanding it. As a result, the students do not learn anything new about the topic as well as they do not develop skills of critical thinking. For instance, most of the universities in rural areas of Pakistan still give less marks if the assignments are submitted not on time and students of these universities perform poorly when they compete with other students of Pakistan in analytical tests such as NTS and GRE. Therefore, this practice should be stopped in order to promote learning among students.

There are numerous other methods to encourage a student to submit assignments on time. One of them is to have a competition for the best assignment in a month, which will make students to submit on time and at the same time they will try to improve the quality of their work, promoting learning. For example, the best concepts that I developed at the university was in the subject of "Theory of Structures" as our teacher used to give 1000 rupees for the best assignment of the week. Thus, such steps should be taken instead of deducting of marks.

In conclusion, forcefully submitting assignments on time is not useful but other methods such as holding a competition for the best assignment will give better results in terms of learning. In my opinion, more different methods should be developed to promote learning instead of deducting marks.