Whether formal writing examination is a good way to assess students learning?

n this day and age, credibility of formal written examination has become a heated topic of discussion. Debates have been doing rounds with some people supporting standardized tests and other people who are against it. I am strongly inclined to the opinion that although written exams are good to assess students' learning, there are other key methods to analyze students. This essay will critique the advantages and disadvantages of written examination before arriving to a suitable conclusion.

Firstly, formal written tests mainly focus on the students ability to remember and reproduce facts taught in class. Mere reproduction of facts cannot be considered as an efficient way to assess students. It simply overburdens the students with unnecessary competition and stress. Although recapitulation power of a students holds significance, it cannot be thought of as the sole criteria for student assessment.

Secondly, in this era of professionalism, one must be imbibed with skills to climb up the career ladder. These skills include physical, mental and emotional abilities of students. Rather than a pen and paper test, skill tests are of paramount importance to analyze a student. Continuous assessment should be done to analyse where the learner stands.

After diligently analyzing the above points of view, one can undoubtedly say that, there exists several other methods to analyse a student rather than formal written examinations.