Younger employees have more skills, knowledge and more motivated than older employees. To what extent do you agree or disagree, support your argument with your own experience?

In today’s era, it becomes a controversial topic that younger employees possess more skills, knowledge and higher level of motivation than senior employees. While I do admit that they have more technical skills, in my opinion, their level of knowledge and motivation are more or less on a par with those of senior employees. I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, the main advantage that younger employees have over senior employees is that they are more tech-savvy. Youngsters grew up in the age of technology. They are adept at using all modern gadgets and technologies. Organisations especially those working at the cutting edge of technology require this expertise of young people and hence they give preference to them while recruiting people. For example, in the information technology sector technology becomes outdated pretty fast. They need engineers who are well-versed in the latest programming languages and hardware technologies. Needless to say most people employed in this sector are youngsters.

On the flip side, it is impossible to deny the importance of experienced employees. Knowledge does not necessarily mean only technological knowledge. While young people certainly have an advantage over seniors in matters of technology, it is not possible to say that their knowledge of other aspects of work or life is more. Likewise, the argument that they possess a higher level of self-motivation also sounds frivolous to me. Young people are less serious than seniors about career. Actually, people in their 20’s are more concerned about enjoying their life than making significant contributions to their organisations.

To recapitulate, according to the above points, young people certainly possess more technical skills than old people. However, I do not agree with the argument that the have more knowledge or self-motivation.