38: The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

new fabric supplier can supply high quality wool fabric without any sufferings. High quality wool fabric leads to production of alpaca overcoat. The workers in the company has good skills in making alpa overcoat.

Alpaca coat will sell well. For five years, the demand for the alpaca coat and the fad for alpaca coat remains the same.

Company profits will increase. Customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats. Their willingness will lead to actual purchase of the coat. Costs will not be a significant amount.

In the above statement, the author contends that company profits will increase due to the change in the supplier for the wool fabric. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that new fabric supplier can make the company's profit to increase. The new fabric supplier can supply high quality wool fabric is assumed. However, it may not be the case. Even though, the new supplier can obtain the fabric easily, there could be such high costs that follows from having the fabric. Moreover, the workers who are making the alpaca coat have a knack for making the coat is assumed as well. Therefore, although there is a fine supply of alpaca, it could not lead to the well-made coat made out of alpaca because of the poor skills for making the coat in the production process. In addition, the costs could have surged due to the new supplier's contract with the company. Thus, further evidence pertaining to the new fabric supplier helping the company's profit to increase is needed to support the claim.

Secondly, the assumption that the alpaca coat will sell well is not conclusively proven. The author's latent assumption for claiming the argument is that the demand for the alpaca coat has not weaken and the trend for alpaca coat remains. However, there could be an alternative source of coats that rises in the fashion industry which is cheap and warm that catches shopper's attention. As such, more detailed data needs to be considered whether the alpaca coat actually sells well should be warranted.

Lastly, the higher willingness to pay for the alpaca coat will lead to the increment of the company's profit is not a plausible assumption without any corroborated evidence. Although the shoppers are willing to buy the coat for the high price, they could be in a financial constraint due to severe nationwide economic condition. In other words, their willingness could not lead to the actual purchase. In addition, we do not have any evidence that how many consumers have high willingness to pay for the coat. If it is only a mere number of consumers, it will not be of a big help to the company. Therefore, it is necessary to consider the evidence for the high willingness of buying coat leading to higher profit for the company.

In conclusion, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the costs for changing to a new fabric supplier, how much the alpaca coat will actually sell, and whether the willingness to buy leads to actual buying should be determined to validate the claim.