38 The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Th author of this proposal to continue manufacturing discontinued aplaca overcoat offers an interesting argument but to move forward on the proposal requires more information and though. While the correlations stated seem logical, there may be hidden factors which prevent the company from increasing its profit in the future.

First, The new vice president of sartorian mentioned that they discontinue their production because of the scarecity of quality wool fabrics. if we were to learn that the new supplier is not able to supply high quality raw materials, it would considerably weaken the argument. Furthermore, having just one supplier cannot guarantee the company that they will always have access to the wool fabrics. As matter of fact, starting a new line of production by just one supplier would put the satorian company under great pressure because the supplier might be just a small enterprise who does not have enough knowledge to run his business. Accordingly, the probability of failure is a lot and in this case, satorian company should down it production again

Secondly, there are various factors which play an important role in demanding a product and merely does not having a competitor cannot lead a company toward success. From the marketing point of view, one the factors is the taste of the customers. The cloth markets face considerable changes over a years and we do not know that wheather the taste of the customers has been changed. Consequently, if we were to understand that because of the new modeling exhibition in the city people are not willing to buy the alpaca coats, it would undermine the argument.

On the other hand, the author concluded that because of inflation and willingness to paying a higher price by the customers we can increase our profit. Although a part of the profit formula is the revenue, the cost of the production is really important as well. Consider a situation that the company has doubled it revenue but costs of the production have been tripled compares to the past. In this situation, the company would decrease its profit. Moreover, paying more prices by the costumers cannot necessarily enhance the revenue of the company because the quantity of demand is important as well. without any doubt, increases in price and decreases in quantity can lead to having less revenue since the revenue is product of the price and the quantity.

In conclusion, I believe that the new vice president of sartorian should conduct in-depth research before starting to produce alpaca overcoat.