According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that colleges and universities should have an honor system similar to Groveton’s to decrease cheating among students. This argument fails to provide adequate information to prove the correlation between implementing an honor system to reduce cheating among students. Primarily, the argument is flawed because it is based on assumed cause and effect that there were no other factors reducing cheating, making the argument invalid.

First of all, it is an assumed cause and effect to claim the honor code is the only factor that affects cheating among students. This is an unwarranted claim and does not demonstrate a clear relationship. What if there were other factors that affected the reduction of students cheating in class? Factors may include students finding new ways to cheat, making it difficult to catch them. This possibility will reduce students being reported for cheating. If the argument had provided evidence that the honor code is the only correlation with reducing cheating, then it would have been more credible.

More significantly, it is an assumption that students will report to faculty if their classmates are cheating. What if the students do not report it? This will reduce the rate of students being reported for cheating. The students may not report it because they are concentrating on their own work and are not actively monitoring their classmates. The argument’s assumption would be stronger if there is valid evidence showing all cases of cheating were indeed reported by the students.

Finally, the claims are based on surveys that may have fabricated answers. For example, what if the respondent lied in the survey to avoid presenting themselves in an unfavorable manner? Students would not want to blatantly say that they would cheat on an exam. Unless the survey accurately represents the parameter, it does not support the author’s claim.

Overall, the argument is unconvincing because it is based on assumed cause and effect that there were no other factors reducing cheating, making the argument invalid. Multiple factors like new cheating methods, students not actively searching for cheaters, and fabricated survey.