Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has been advancing and evolving rapidly for the last century. People get to live freely and spontaneously because technology has granted us an instant gratification for what we desire, and this simplifies our lives. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that technology makes our lives more complicated.

First of all, technology has benefitted our life in multiple ways. For example, sending a message to a relative that live in a different country or a friend that you have not communicated for a while. Cell phone has made it so convenient that people can just talk to another human being from a different country with a simple click. If it was not for technology, people would have to patiently wait for weeks to get their mail deliver since it takes about three to four weeks. Technology has granted us instant communication which makes our life simpler and it can aid us with our personal problems.

Furthermore, technology has facilitated people to cope with their personal and emotional problems. There are insurmountable number of websites that are willing to share information to help others cope with their stresses and depressions. For example, the internet allows people to come together as a group and support each other. This is a fantastic way to help others even if you cannot meet or see the person. Additionally, people do not have to go to the hospital to see a doctor. With technology, you can chat with your doctors on your phone, and they can diagnose your problems without any hassles and complications. Consequently, technology has made our life simpler and there is no limit of we can achieve with technology.

Likewise, technology has allowed humans to thrive with limitless opportunities. Due to technology, humans are able to discovers other organisms that live in another planet or the fishes that live deep in the ocean. Without technology, we would never able to dream of a rocket that goes to space and a submarine that can dive 3000 feet below sea level. Therefore, technology has made humans better in many ways and opened numerous opportunities for us to enjoy our simple and leisure life.

On the other hand, while technology has merits, there are other factors that can make our lives more complicated. Technology has made people extremely spoiled and entitled due to the instant gratification. For example. We can buy an item online and it will be delivered next day without any complications. Ultimately, the instant gratification has made us lose the ability to form deeper meaningful relationships with our peers. For example, people are constantly using their cell phone to communicate instead of talking with one another. Even worse, technology has had made us superficial and materialistic, unfortunately, this can lead to depression. Striving to constantly impress others will have a negative toll on your health and this can complicate our lives. However, technology has made our life simpler because humans would have not prospered and have the chance to explore the universes.

Overall, technology has made our life easier due to numerous ways that made our lives simpler. Simple things like sending a text message to a relative or a friend that live across the country. Also, the opportunities to discovers other organisms that lives in space or the deep ocean. All of these reasons are why technology has simplified our lives.