According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty Member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which excellently monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students In a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. ,All colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the report, the author has advocated to adopt the honor code in the universities to reduce the cheating tendency among the students. The author has come to this conclusion based on the survey conducted which says that the students are less likely to cheat with the honor code and the gradual decrease of cheating within five years of its adoption. However, this recommendation can be evaluated if the following four questions are answered.

Firstly, was the recent survey conducted was a scientific one? In other words was the questionnaire used for the survey was a scientific one? Perhaps the survey questionnaire wasn't prepared according the scruples of preparing it . further, there is a high potential that Only the piddling number of students complying with the honor code,were asked to participate. if any of these doubts comes true, the conclusion above, doesn't hold water.

Secondly, was the numbers of cheaters informed verifiable? there is a potential that the actual numbers of students was not recorded. it says that this code engaged students to inform the authority of the cheaters, whom they suspected. this system is highly erroneous as the students alone are responsible for it. Besides , there is a chance for students to be biased and trap their enemies and save their friends furtively. if any of these prevarications is true, the argument above is highly flawed.

Thirdly, was the method replaced by the honor code was really ineffective? there is a high potential that the previous method was far more fecund than the present one. The previous method had reported the present number of cheaters to be thirty, which might be precipitatous if the number decreased, say about hundred to thirty, then the previously irrefutably a better method and hence the said given given by the author becomes fallacious.

Finally, had this code so efficacious, then why the number of cheaters didn't nullify within five years? it illustrates that the number dropped from thirty to twenty one and then finally fourteen. A very negligible truncate of the number of cheaters cant justify the honor code to be best of all. there is potential that in the further years the number of cheaters increased due to the inadequacy of this code as this run sole by the students. if this doubt is dispelled then the argument' conclusion cannot be purported.

The argument, as it stands now, is highly flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer these questions and provide more evidence in the form of a research study, this drastically flawed recommendation can be turned valid