According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the passage recommends that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes in order to decrease cheating among students. Because since Groveton College adopted the honor code, the reported cases of cheating from teacher decrease, and students reported that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code. However, there are several questions need to be answered to make the claim as tenable as it stands.

First of all, the author cites a report that cheating among college and university students is on the rise, but cheating Groveton College is decreasing. Notwithstanding, readers may want to know who wrote that report? The report could be written by the fair third party or by faculty of Groveton College. If the report was from the fair third party, the content maybe reliable. Yet if the report was written by the faculty of Groveton College, the reliability of the report is suspicious, since he or she may want to establish a good reputation for Groveton College, and therefore they can recruit more students for next several years. Thus, the author should provide more information to show the source of the report.

Secondly, the author claims that since Groventon College adopted the honor code, the cheating cases reported from teacher has decreased. However, was the reduction caused by the adoption of honor code? The passage mentions that under the system of honor code, students are encouraged to report their classmates if they suspect that other students are cheating. Maybe some students would be willing to report their classmates, but more students care more about their relationship with peers, since studying in university is not only to learn professional knowledge, but also to build their network. Hence, decrease of the reported cases may not be as reliable as the author thought.

Finally, the author cites another survey that majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with honor code. Still, did those students answer what they really thought? Perhaps they answer that they would be less likely to cheat just because they do not want to catch their professors' attention, since if they become suspected to their teachers, it would be unlikely to cheat successfully. Due to this reason, the validity of the survey may be dubious. Therefore, citing this survey may not be able to make the statement more convincing.

The author needs to answer the questions mentioned above, to make his or her statement as plausible as it stands.