According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies act

As per the memo given by advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, during last year fewer people have attended movies produced by Super Screen Movie company. But the postive reviews has been up in last year. The memo states that it is clearly because the contents of such positive review has not reached to the viewers. And to resolve it, memo recommends allocating a greater share of its budget to advertising.

There are various assumptions made by the advertising director which weakens the recommendation. As per the report by marketing department, fewer people have attended the Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. Although the data comparision does suggest that fewer people have watched their movies but they have failed to consider to compare it with the people who have watched any other movies in last year. Inflation or an economic crisis would have hindered the chances of viewers viewing a movie. If there was a price increase in the cost of movies during last year because of any reason would have stopped viewers from watching movies and they might have watched only a selective few. Here, the advertising director has failed to consider the possibility of fewer viewer because of the rise in the price of ticket or economy failure. By evaluating such parameters, advertising director could have shaped their argument with less possibility of fallacies.

The memo states the positive review has went up for the movies in last year. But the assumption over the reviews are that only postive review has went up. It could be that even the negative reviews of the movies has went up. If the negative review has been up as well then the average ratings of Super Screen movies would have been down. Viewers will surely avoid such movies which has low ratings because it directly mirrors the quality of the movies. Here, the advertising director should have also considered that the negative reviews along with postive reviews and bolstered their argument on the quality of the movies accordingly.

Without having any actual evidence, the memo states the positive reviews has not been reaching out to the viewers. Even when a movie has postive reviews, the other parameters should have been considered which directly relates to whether a person would watch a movie. The movie if based on controversial topic could have been avoided by many viewers because they may not agree with the statement made by the movie. When a movie is made, they cast actors to act in it and if the actors had been notorious during the production or release of movie would have directly negatively impacted the movies sales. Also, the advertising director has failed to consider if their company was involved in any scandalous activity last year which might have lowered the chances of people attending their movies.

The advertising director should have considered the above mentioned parameters before deciding on the probable cause for fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies. By analysing each one of them, they would be strengthening their argument for recommendation for allocating a greater share of its budget next year to reaching out to public through advertising.