According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The memo interpreted that the reason caused fewer poeple attending Super Screen-produced movies than last year is because of the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available; therefore, they should allocate more budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. There are couple flaws in the director's memo, before making a further research, the company should not blindly spend more money on advertising.

First, as it memtioned in the memo, the percentage of positive reviews is increased. However, does the percentage increase necessarily mean the overall customer's rating increase. What if previously there are 100 reviews with 70 positive reviews, but right now there are only 10 reviews with 8 positive reviews. The perfectage increasement won't be able to support the point that the quality of the movie is getting better. Unless with the support of a bigger sample, like 1000 viewers or even more, the company can't just say that they provided good quality movies. Also, the customers won't simply take their words without more data to support their opinion.

Futhermore, the percentage of positive reviews only increased for specific movies. Therefore, nothing can be conclude from the the percentage increasement unless the comprehensive review report about all the movie being produced last year is available. For example, if the company produced overall 20 movies last year, with only three movies have percentage increasement in positive reviews and the rest of them all received negative reviews. Then it is reasonable to believe that there are actually some issues with the quality of the movie instead of the way they advertising.

Last but not least, there is no evidence indicates that public didn't aware of the movie. There are many reasons that can lead to the decreasement of audience and lack of awareness can be one of them, but there are other reasons may also contribute to audience choice. For example, there are new entertainment substitues that attracts audience away from the movies; there might be another company which made a better movie at the same time and the customers decided to see that movie, etc. Therefore, it's better for the company to send out a a questionnaire to ask customers what exactly is the reason made them switch their choice instead of interpreting based on the incomplete data.

Based on analysis, it is reasonable to believe that a comprehensive research regards those questions listed above are necessary in order to make a sound decision.